Doctor Who: Classic Series

Near to half a century ago, creaky black and white British Television yielded what is now a TV institution, a UK Legend and recognizable brand around the world today. Here's where the world's longest running science Fiction TV show started. With easily one of the most flexible formats in an action adventure series - An eccentric and nameless alien scientist only ever referred to as "The Doctor" who can go anywhere and anywhen in Time and Space with a ship 'stolen' from his own people and always ends up the troubleshooter landing in a dangerous situation wherever his TARDIS takes him. Normally dragging his willing or unwillingly travelling companions along for the ride.

Long ago the Doctor's ship, The TARDIS was stuck in the camouflaged shape of a Police Telephone Box of 20th Century Earth now a recognized spaceship the world over. Without it the Doctor's adventures would be minimal and he would doubtless barely survive the changes of appearance he has been forced to undergo several times to avoid dying of life threatening injuries. During the classic series he survived through seven different incarnations, the Mysterious Grumpy Grandfather (William Hartnell) and Cosmic Hobo (Patrick Troughton) of the black and white sixties era. Into colour with The Action Dandy (Jon Pertwee) and Bohemian Adventurer (Tom Baker) of the Seventies. The dashing Edwardian Hero (Peter Davison), the Colourful Avenger (Colin Baker) and Cosmic Manipulator (Sylvester McCoy) of the Eighties. Finally the very short lived exuberant Englishman(Paul McGann)who appeared in the Dr Who comeback Telemovie in the mid nineties. Each era of Doctor Who being a contrast to the one before.

Now to follow his adventures in depth as he prevents invasions, brings down planetary dictatorships or deals with a time line gone wrong.

jon pertwee tom baker
William Hartnell Patrick Troughton Jon Pertwee Tom Baker
1963 - 1966 1966 - 1969 1970 - 1974 1974 - 1981
An Unearthly Child The Power Of The Daleks Spearhead From Space Robot
The Daleks The Highlanders The Silurians Ark In Space
The Edge Of Destruction The Underwater Menace The Ambassadors Of Death The Sontaran Experiment
See all episodes See all episodes See all episodes See all episodes
peter davison colin baker sylvester mccoy paul mcgann
Peter Davison Colin Baker Sylvester McCoy Paul McGann
1982 - 1984 1984 - 1986 1987 - 1989 1996
Castrovalva The Twin Dilemma Time And The Rani The TV Movie (The Enemy Within)
Four To Doomsday Attack Of The Cybermen Paradise Towers
Kinda Vengeance On Varos Delta And The Bannermen
See all episodes See all episodes See all episodes See all episodes


Season 1 Season 2 Season 3
23 November 1963 to 12 September 1964: 31 October 1964 to 24 July 1965: 11 September 1965 to 16 July 1966:
An Unearthly Child Planet Of Giants Galaxy 4
The Daleks The Dalek Invasion Of Earth Mission To The Unknown
The Edge Of Destruction The Rescue The Myth Makers
Marco Polo The Romans The Daleks Masterplan
The Keys Of Marinus The Web Planet The Massacre
The Aztecs The Crusade The Ark
The Sensorites The Space Museum The Celestial Toymaker
The Reign Of Terror The Chase The Gunfighters
The Time Meddler The Savages
The War Machines
Season 4
10 September 1966 to 01 July 1967:
The Smugglers
The Tenth Planet

Season 4 Season 5 Season 6
10 September 1966 to 01 July 1967: 02 September 1967 to 01 June 1968: 10 August 1968 to 21 June 1969:
The Power Of The Daleks The Tomb Of The Cybermen The Dominators
The Highlanders The Abominable Snowmen The Mind Robber
The Underwater Menace The Ice Warriors The Invasion
The Moonbase The Enemy Of The World The Krotons
The Macra Terror The Web Of Fear The Seeds Of Death
The Faceless Ones Fury From The Deep The Space Pirates
The Evil Of The Daleks The Wheel In Space The War Games

Season 7 Season 8 Season 9
03 January 1970 to 20 June 1970: 02 January 1971 to 19 June 1971: 01 January 1972 to 24 June 1972:
Spearhead From Space Terror Of The Autons Day Of The Daleks
The Silurians The Mind Of Evil The Curse Of Peladon
The Ambassadors Of Death The Claws Of Axos The Sea Devils
Inferno Colony In Space The Mutants
The Daemons The Time Monster
Season 10 Season 11
30 December 1972 to 23 June 1973: 15 December 1973 to 08 June 1974
The Three Doctors The Time Warrior
The Carnival Of Monsters Invasion Of The Dinosaurs
Frontier In Space Death To The Daleks
Planet Of The Daleks The Monster Of Peladon
The Green Death Planet Of The Spiders

Season 12 Season 13 Season 14
28 December 1974 to 10

May 1975:

30 August 1975 to 6 March


4 September 1976 to 2

April 1977:

Robot Terror Of The Zygons The Masque Of Mandragora
Ark In Space Planet Of Evil The Hand Of Fear
The Sontaran Experiment The Pyramids Of Mars The Deadly Assassin
Genesis Of The Daleks The Android Invasion The Face Of Evil
Revenge Of The Cybermen The Brain Of Morbius The Robots Of Death
The Seeds Of Doom The Talons Of Weng Chiang
Season 15 Season 16 Season 17
3 September 1977 to 11

March 1978:

2 September 1978 to 24

February 1979

1 September 1979 to 12

January 1980

Horror Of Fang Rock The Ribos Operation Destiny Of The Daleks
The Invisible Enemy The Pirate Planet The City Of Death
Image Of The Fendahl The Stones Of Blood The Creature From The Pit
The Sunmakers The Androids Of Tara Nightmare Of Eden
Underworld The Power Of Kroll The Horns Of Nimon
The Invasion Of Time The Armaggedeon Factor Shada
Season 18
30 August 1980 to 21

March 1981:

The Leisure Hive
Full Circle
State Of Decay
Warriors' Gate
The Keeper Of Traken

Season 19 Season 20 Season 21
04 January 1982 to 30 March 1982: 03 January 1983 to 16 March 1983 & 20th Anniversary Special 25 November 1983: 05 January 1984 to 30 March 1984:
Castrovalva The Arc Of Infinity Warriors Of The Deep
Four To Doomsday Snakedance The Awakening
Kinda Mawdryn Undead Frontios
The Visitation Terminus Resurrection Of The Daleks
Black Orchid Enlightenment Planet Of Fire
Earthshock The Kings' Demons The Caves Of Androzani
Time Flight The Five Doctors

Season 21 Season 22 Season 23
05 January 1984 to 30

March 1984:

5 January 1985 to 30

March 1985:

6 September 1986 to 6

December 1986:

The Twin Dilemma Attack Of The Cybermen The Mysterious Planet
Vengeance On Varos Mindwarp
Mark Of The Rani Terror Of The Vervoids
The Two Doctors The Ultimate Foe
Revelation Of The Daleks

Season 24 Season 25 Season 26
7 September 1987 to 7 December 1987: 5 October 1988 to 4 January 1989: 6 September 1989 to 6 December 1989:
Time And The Rani Remembrance Of The Daleks Battlefield
Paradise Towers The Happiness Patrol Ghost Light
Delta And The Bannermen Silver Nemesis The Curse Of Fenric
Dragonfire The Greatest Show In The Galaxy Survival

TV Movie 27 May 1996: The Enemy Within

Return from Dr Who Classic Series to Best Old TV Shows home page

Dr Who William Hartnell logo

Dr Who Patrick Troughton logo

Dr Who Jon Pertwee logo

Dr Who Tom Baker logo

Dr Who Peter Davison logo

Dr Who Colin Baker logo

Dr Who Sylvester McCoy logo

Dr Who Paul Mcgann logo

Dr Who Dalek

Dr Who the Brigadier

Dr Who cyberman

Dr Who sarah jane smith

Dr Who sontaran

Dr Who Jamie

Dr Who ice warrior

Dr Who Tegan

Dr Who silurian

Dr Who Jo Grant

Dr Who the Master

Dr Who Leela

Dr Who Davros

Dr Who K9